Can you tell if a cat will be friendly, aggressive or laid-back simply by taking a quick look at its color? That question has perplexed cat owners and scientists alike for years. Although it's pos ...View Article
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
You can read the laws that apply to dogs at the Department of Agriculture's website
This is part of what is available at that website. (I have inserted some highlights because they are the questions that I most frequently receive)
What are Pennsylvania's Dog Laws?
The Bureau of Dog Law is charged with the following responsibilities:
Puppy Lemon Law:
In an effort to ensure that consumers buying a dog in Pennsylvania know their new pet has a clean bill of health, Pennsylvania's dog sellers and breeders must now post a visible notice that informs consumers of their rights under the state's Dog Purchaser Protection Act, also known as the "Puppy Lemon Law". Sellers and breeders must also provide a written copy of the consumer's rights at the time of the sale.
For more information on Pennsylvania's "Puppy Lemon Law", or to file a complaint, visit the Office of the Attorney General, Bureau of Consumer Protection
The Dog Purchaser Protection Act (or Puppy Lemon Law) can be read on the website of the Office of the Attorney General's Office: http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/consumers.aspx?id=163
PA Rabies Law
Vaccinations are mandated by law. Vaccinations are to protect your pets, their owners, and the public against fatal diseases, particularly rabies. All pet owners must have their pets vaccinated against rabies. Rabies threatens the live of humans and animals. Unvaccinated pets are a threat to spreading disease. Pets under one year of age must receive a booster vaccination one year after the original inoculation, then at least every there years thereafter. Animals older than one year must have boosters at least once every three years after the original vaccination.
Police, state dog wardens and municipal animal control officers are charged with enforcement. Those who do not have their animals rabies vaccinated could be fined up to $300. A person owning or keeping a dog or cat over 3 months of age shall, upon request of a police officer or State dog warden or designated municipal animal control officer, produce within 48 hours a valid certificate of vaccination. Any dog or cat over 3 months of age brought into this Commonwealth shall be accompanied by a certificate of vaccination.